"Circulation Numbers" of Catholic Hymnals?
  • +

Hi everyone,

I just joined the forum, though I've been interested in the CMAA's work for quite some time. I'm a doctoral student at Purdue and a faithful Catholic. My research usually focuses on vocations and calling, but I'm undertaking a project on hymnals this semester. Right now, my co-author and I are desperately in need of a list of Catholic hymnals by "circulation", i.e., we need to know how many parishes use each hymnal, so that we can determine which hymnals are most/least used.

Does anyone know where I can find such a list? We've scoured the web and come up empty.

Any help would be much appreciated!

In Him,

Jenni
  • matthewjmatthewj
    No such lists exist.
    Someone else came to this forum looking for such information and it was not available then.

One could be hypothetically created, but it would take hundreds of hours of work.
    Thanked by 1jesigler
  • melofluentmelofluent
    MJM and Jenni (welcome)
    Matthew is correct. But I wonder (and Chuck Gifffen, please chime in as resident math wizard) whether the corporate Profit and Loss statements of all the biggies are publicly accessible. If that's a yes, perhaps gross income per house could be used as a barometer of hymnal market share, and a simple pie chart analysis could be derived.
    Thanked by 3Kathy Cantus67 jesigler
  • chonakchonak
    I like melo's idea, but I'm afraid the data is not available.

Publishers that are non-profit corporations might file IRS Form 990 annually, but I think there is an exemption making it optional for religious entities. Going by the data on guidestar.org, OCP has not issued a Form 990 since 2001.

Any publishers that are owned by privately held corporations (WLP, I presume) would not have to report their income to the public. I don't know of any offhand owned by publicly traded corporations.