Antiphons for Compline in OF
  • VilyanorVilyanor
    Hello, I'm an amateur Chant and Divine Office enthusiast, and I'm trying to put together a booklet for chanting Compline for use by myself and friends. I'm looking for the Latin Antiphons for Compline. van Roode made a great Compline booklet, but most of the Antiphons don't match those from the Liturgia Horarum. Can anyone tell me why this is, and if there are official chants for the Antiphons that appear in the Liturgia Horarum out there somewhere?

Many thanks,
    Verso l'alto,
    Skyler
  • chonakchonak
    For those of us who don't have Steven's book, could you cite a few examples?
  • VilyanorVilyanor
    Certainly.

Sunday I
    van Roode:
    Miserére mihi, Dómine, et exáudi oratiónem meam.
    Liturgia Horarum:
    Miserére mei, Dómine, et exáudi oratiónem meam. (Small difference, I know, but still puzzling.)
    Antiphon 2 is the same: In nóctibus benedícite Dóminum.

Sunday II
    vR:
    Qui hábitat in adiutórium Altíssimi, in protectióne Dei cæli commorábitur.
    LH:
    Alis suis obumbrábit tibi; non timébis a timóre noctúrno.

Shall I continue? The Antiphons from Monday, Tuesday, Friday, and the first Antiphon from Wednesday are all different. Is it permissible to link to van Roode's booklet .pdf without express permission? I know he's posted it here before.

Here's Compline in the LH.
    http://www.almudi.org/Portals/0/docs/Breviario/fuentes/breviario.asp?tiempo=4
  • Perhaps he used the Ordo Cantus Officii?
  • quilisma
    Steven explains, quite clearly, that he has followed the Ordo Cantus Officii for the selection of antiphons. This document, issued in 1983 and, therefore, some years after the OF Divine Office came out, does not always match the antiphons. This is because it exploits the library of existing Gregorian antiphons, which are not always the same as the modern texts. Therefore an equivalent has been proposed.