Voice to eye or ear?
  • melofluentmelofluent
    Simple question for distillation: all things being equal, when it comes to the moment and progression of a chant performance, which is the more important sensory tool, the eye or the ear. I'm really not interested in equivocating the two, so at your gut level, which one do you rely upon?
  • Kathy
    Eye, definitely. But more ear than when singing or playing 5 line music.
    Thanked by 1melofluent
  • a_f_hawkins
    As an untrained occasional cantor, who can read a vocal line, but not at performance speed, ear clearly. But as a mathematician by profession, I would say you can't divorce the different ways of looking at things, an equation is both an abstract collection of logical symbols AND it's geometric representation. The neumes are a trigger for my inner ear, then the physical sound lets me know whether I performed what I imagined.
    On the other hand, I was recently thrust a vocal and organ score of the Asperges, when the designated cantor was unavailable, and the modern notation trapped me into at least one error.
    Thanked by 1melofluent
  • Without sight one cannot read notation,
    but the ear is the organ of equal importance to the voice in musical performance.
    The eye sees a notated fourth, the mind comprehends it, the ear is the governor of what the voice does. We sing as much with our ears as with our voices. Sight, actually, is important only in reading something new, it is not utilised when singing something already known.

As a Post Script: