Which Colloquium Choir to Choose?
  • StimsonInRehabStimsonInRehab
    Since this is my first time, I must ask - how does one get into the different choirs of the Colloquium? Does one audition? Or is it a matter of picking and choosing? And is it normal to have the feeling of a kid in a candy shop upon seeing the choices of repretoire?
  • Carl DCarl D
    A totally normal experience, SIR. I recommend working on your bi-location between now and then. But ultimately it's just about picking where your interest and skill level leads you. Personally, I go for something that will be challenging, but not freak me out.

No auditions, unless they've changed something this year.
  • ClergetKubiszClergetKubisz
    This will be my first time as well and I had the same question, and felt the same way about the rep! I'm thinking about auditioning for the Indy Symphonic Choir at the end of the summer.
  • francis
    OK... I only went once, but my recommendation is to do a little of each if possible.
  • chonakchonak
    Two notes:

(1) If your duties require you to leave before the last Mass, which is on Sunday, choose a choir that does its major work on some other day of the colloquium.

(2) On the first evening, we take a rough count of volunteers for the various choirs, and if there's an imbalance in some voices, it could be helpful for people to switch from one group to another.

Occasionally there may be auditions within a choir for solo or small-group portions, depending on the work. If that's the case, the instructor for that choir will arrange that.
  • Are there still openings in the Midnight Choir?

I used to be a doctor, uh, uh, I was a brain surgeon.

Love this song, used to blast it from my MGB with the top down...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5dtpw7zEm0
  • melofluentmelofluent
    OK... I only went once, but my recommendation is to do a little of each if possible.

Wrong, wrong, wrong...sorry francis.