Latin Pronunciation
  • Hi, need help, choir is arriving and one of the songs I want to teach them is Be Joyful, Mary.....and I'm unsure of pronunciation of "Laetare" and this is why....

I think I heard Laetare mis-pronounced......I had looked it up online and thought it was LAY TAH RAY, but heard an earlier Mass DM say LAH TAH RAY and then was afraid to say it at the Mass where I was DM......(which I could not have explained the rose instead of violet because the priest wore violet because he thinks "rose" looks like "pink".....oh dear...but I'm off my OWN topic).

And for anyone scratching their heads wondering why a "volunteer" "DM" is unsure of pronunciation, remember I'm in my first year helping out (there is no one else)....and I'm not a cradle (head bowed) but I Thank God every single day he called me to His Church -- (head up and smiling)).

So, I'm tired of looking stuff up online and being unsure....I think I need to post more questions here

• THANK you -- wish I had found that long ago.....see ask and you shall receive.

So it would be Leh- tah- reh?
  • also choir had a recent debate about excelsius.....if it was

ex -- CHel -- sius
    or
    ex -- SHel -- sius
  • Andrew_Malton
    Eggshells.
  • CHGiffenCHGiffen
    Eggshells.
    Just ask the Chanzeller of the Eggshecker.

From the canticanova latin pronunciation guide:

X gs as in exam after E, at the beginning of a word, followed by a vowel
    example: exaudi

X ks as in tax followed by a consonant or at the end of a word
    examples: excelsis, lux

Hence, excelsis pronouced as eks-chel-sis seems to be the correct way, which flies in the face of the (apparently very west Pondelian choral) penchant for pronouncing it at eggshellsis.
  • Liber Usualis (no. 801, 1963), p. xxxviij:

ek-shel-sees
    Thanked by 2CHGiffen Choirparts