male or female cantor for psalm 22
  • Josie
    I am a new member and usually I just browse this forum but I have a serious question. Traditionally in our church the psalm on Palm Sunday and Good Friday is cantored by a male. This is my first year in this position as music director and I can see why some of music ministry would get upset about this. Have any of you heard of this before and is there any documentation that suggests the use of a male cantor?
  • Josie,

Welcome. There is no sex/gender stipulation on cantoring for the Mass in English. The GIRM covers many issues but not this one!

These issues always seem to come out of the woodwork during the first year as a music director. Even though your predecessors may have slapped down the malefactors in the past, hope springs eternal that maybe, with the new music director, we can get our way.

The male/males that want to do this need to grow up or find another parish and music director to terrorize. I'm male but I'm backing you up 100%.

Good question, glad that you asked it. We are always here to support good people doing good work!

Added: An astute member of this group mentioned that my answer assumed certain things...so the question is:

you assigned a woman and a man complained, or
    you assigned a man and a woman complained, or maybe
    you just heard about this alleged custom, and nobody complained yet?

This is getting interesting!
    Thanked by 1ClergetKubisz
  • Kathy
    Yesterday's Gospel for the Annunciation was a dialogue between an angel and a woman, but liturgically read by a man (deacon or priest), who is neither. I think your parish custom, while probably well-intentioned, comes a little too close to making the liturgy into a play. I wonder if there might be similar customs on other feasts. I would suggest approaching the problem from that angle rather than from a gender angle, if possible.
  • Jeffrey Quick
    Why are there so few male cantors being used, to begin with?